Collaborate with any participant in real-time while presenting a document or sharing your screen.



How to annotate on your own presentation

  1. Click 'Share' and select what you want to display
    (Chrome: Entire screen, Application window or Chrome tab | Firefox: Entire screen or Application window | Safari: Entire screen)
  2. Return to the meeting room window
  3. Click 'Annotate' in the top toolbar


You will see a preview of what you are sharing in the center of your screen. Clicking 'Annotate' will activate a pen tool to allow you to mark up the presentation. You also have the option to adjust the preview size for yourself using the Screen sharing controlsĀ on the bottom left of the screen.


For the best experience, with two monitors, have the meeting room window on one monitor and your presentation on the other. If you only have one monitor, we recommend have the meeting room window take up half your screen and have your presentation on the other half.






TIP: Annotation works best with Google Chrome as you have more options regarding what you want to share and how. With Chrome, you can choose to share only one application or one Chrome tab only. If you have multiple monitors, you can also easily choose which monitor to display.




How another participant can annotate on your presentation

  1. Click 'Share' and begin presenting a document as above
  2. Participants will see your presentation fill the entire meeting room screen as in the screenshot below
  3. Any other participant will be able to also click on 'Annotate' in the top toolbar



Participants can not use the annotation tool in 'Q&A/Classroom' or 'Presentation/Webinar mode' - learn more about the different conference modes here




Annotation tools available

The following tools can be used to mark up documents in real time during a meeting.




Save annotated screen share images


To save your annotated images at any time, just click on the download icon in the toolbar and a png file will appear in the chat for you or any of your conference participants to download and use as required.


You will also be able to find any saved screenshots within your account via the 'Past' calls section, in the 'documents' tab.




'Infinity mirror'


If you are using just one monitor and share your entire screen/desktop, one weird interaction that is very common with screen sharing is the "infinity mirror" effect. This happens when you share your screen, and your meeting room is visible in the area that you're sharing. The reason that this happens is that you're sharing an image that's showing a shared image, which creates an infinite loop. To prevent this, just navigate to the application or browser tab that you want to share and/or minimize the browser window.



Two monitors


Ideally, having two monitors connected to your computer when screen sharing will provide you with the best experience. With this option, you can keep your online meeting room open on one monitor, and then use the other screen for your content that you want to share. This way you can avoid any infinity mirror effects, and you can also keep a full-size view of your room open while sharing your screen, making it easy to view any annotations from others and also mark up the display yourself.



Two windows


If you don't have a second monitor, you can still keep a view of your meeting room open while you screen share. In this scenario, to avoid the 'infinity mirror', we recommend that you select either to share the application you specifically want to share or a chrome tab. Then simply retain your meeting room in its own separate browser window, and resize to half or a third of your screen.